Driving Under The Influence In Michigan
Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Michigan is a serious crime. The dangerous nature of a DUI offense can result in the injury of not only the offender but that of any victim should there be an accident as a result of driving under the influence.
DUI Statistics In Michigan
According to the Michigan State Police; driving under the influence of alcohol accounts for fatalities that are on average 11 times that of other accidents and the level of seriousness in the injuries is six times as high. There is no doubt that there may be serious and even fatal consequences involved for anyone getting behind the wheel under the influence of alcohol, there is also the legal aspect. Facing a DUI can mean paying steep costs. Aside from the fees, fines, and penalties involved, you may also face the possibility of losing your freedom when faced with prison time.
Baic Legalities Of Driving Under The Influence
In the state of Michigan, it is against the law to drive under the influence of Alcohol or a Controlled Substance. The level of offense is based on the bodily alcohol content as well as the schedule of the controlled substance involved. For alcohol content of 0.08 or above, the offense falls under “driving while intoxicated”, the bodily alcohol content of 0.17 or above becomes a “High BAC crime”.
*BAC: Blood Alcohol Concentration
What Are The DUI Classifications?
There are two classifications for a DUI in Michigan:
- OWVI (Operating While Visibly Impaired) this classification indicates that you were visibly impaired as a result of alcohol or other intoxicants like a controlled substance or similar.
- OWPD – Operating With Any Presence of a Schedule 1 Drug or Cocaine
- OWI (Operating While Intoxicated) charge is accompanied by three classifications:
What Happens If You Are Convicted?
- If you are convicted of an OWI or OWPD first offense you may face up to a $500 fine; up to three months in prison, over 300 hours of community service, license suspension, and restriction, the loss of the use of your vehicle and points on your license.
- If you are convicted of an OWVI first offense you may face up to a $300 fine; up to three months in prison, 300+ hours of community service, license restriction of up to 180 days if a controlled substance is involved, possible loss of the use of your vehicle and points on your license.
- If you are convicted of High Blood Alcohol Content, the most severe, you may face up to six months in prison; up to a $700 fine, community service, one-year license suspension with the possibility of a restricted license, interlock device, license plate confiscation, vehicle mobilization an points on your license.